Homemade Dog Food

Stella is my family’s Miniature Schnauzer X Poodle.  She’s only three years old but she’s been sick off and on for her entire life.  I don’t even want to know how much I have spent on veterinary bills!!

This past Easter we were at my in-laws place and Stella urinated blood on their carpet! I was so freaked out.  I rushed her to the vet and she had a series of tests, X-rays, and ultimately a surgery on her bladder to remove struvite crystals and stones.  A thousand dollars or so later…Stella was finally recovering but we were told she would have to be on a special food (Urinary SO) for the rest of her life.  This didn’t sit well with me.  I didn’t believe that the food was meeting her nutritional needs.

I battled with many vets.  All of them said no to homemade dog food.  (I do believe they were trying to help but I don’t know how much they learn about actual dog nutrition in school).  Anyhow, after hours and hours of research I thought – fuck it – I’m going for it.  Today, Stella has been on homemade dog food for almost 2 months and she is doing great!

Give me the stick Dad!!

A post shared by Danielle M L K (@danielle_keil) on

A post shared by Danielle M L K (@danielle_keil) on

A post shared by Danielle M L K (@danielle_keil) on

She hasn’t had any fur discolouration (which she always got on her paws and ears), or infections of any kind.  I also regularly test her urine with pH strips just to be sure.

If you are interested in recipes for your dog…let me know!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

